PM announces more Enterprise Zones

The Prime Minister has announced the second phase of the Enterprise Zones initiative aimed at kick-starting growth in depressed areas by offering incentives to businesses to set up. On offer will be tax breaks, high-speed broad-band and flexible planning rules.

The new Zones will be at:

•    Daresbury Science Campus in Warrington
•    Newquay AeroHub in Cornwall
•    The Solent Enterprise Zone at Daedalus Airfield in Gosport
•    Rotherwas Enterprise Zone in Hereford;
•    Discovery Park in Sandwich, Kent
•    Enterprise West Essex in Harlow
•    Science Vale UK in Oxfordshire
•    Alconbury Airfield in Cambridgeshire
•    Great Yarmouth in Norfolk
•    Lowestoft in Suffolk;
•    Northampton Waterside
•    MIRA Technology Park in Hinckley Leicestershire
•    Humber Estuary Renewable Energy Super Cluster

The 2011 Budget brought in the first wave of Zones, which were mainly in urban locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Birmingham, Bristol, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Derby and Nottingham.  The intention of the Coalition is to see 30,000 new jobs created by 2015. The idea is based on a similar policy that was introduced during the 1980s recession.

David Cameron said, "we are determined to do everything we can to make Britain the best place in the world to start and grow a business. Enterprise Zones are a major step towards delivering this - cutting business taxes, easing planning restrictions and giving business the tools they need to invest and expand.

These new Enterprise Zones will be trailblazers for growth, jobs and prosperity throughout the country."

Click here for PDF

PM announces more enterprise zones.pdf

About cookie settings

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
These cookies help us to improve by giving us some insight into how the site is being used but will only be set if you consent.
By continuing to browse our site you accept the terms of use