The Board appoint a chief executive responsible for the day to day running of the business, supported by an executive team accountable for delivery.

The RHA has three regional councils representing members in the Southern & Eastern, Northern, Midlands & Western regions and one for Scotland & Northern Ireland. These councils comprise between 14 and 30 elected councillors, as numbers vary according to the size of the region. Councillors can sit on a council for a minimum of two years and are voted onto it by the associated regional members. Members interested in sitting on a regional council can express their interest by contacting their regional director.